Any coders out there?

Does anyone here do much coding? What programming languages do you use? Whats your favorite?

As for me, its a living. Literally :slight_smile: I use mostly Java and a bit of Javascript. I grew up on Java so thats my strongest language, but Javascript, as strange as it is (coming from a strong typed language like Java), is actually a neat language. I like the flexibility it has.

Id probably say my favorite language, although Im still fairly new at it, is C++. Some people like it, some people hate it, but I like how its sort of a mid level language. You can work with memory, create classes and objects, and even tie in some assembly for extra performance.

I know that this is OS.ALT but I grew up with QBASIC. I write a lot of VBA and .NET because of this. I dabble in other languages but Basic is what I use at work now to speak to various APIs that are available in our LOB applications. It allows me to make magical things happen for my users and that’s what it is all about for me. Making work easier and making people happy. I get a lot of pleasure from seeing people use my programs at work because I know how much frustration I have eliminated in their day to day lives.

1 Like

Perl and JavaScript are my jam. I toy with c every now and again but Perl is really my go to language. JavaScript if I need something dynamic on a webpage.

Perl seems like a neat language. Never worked with it though.

I have worked with C# a little bit, quite a powerful language. Although Visual Studio is a monstrosity of an IDE, I do like its Debugger. It served great for learning x86 Assembly.

Currently a lot of Angular, Vue and Node… I spent 13 years from 2001 till 2014 with mostly PHP, Python, Javascript & (HTML & CSS). I used to have a web development company from 2006 until the end of 2012.

Awesome! I believe theres a few people on my current project that use Angular. Ive heard its a bit strange, but a useful language.